Welcome to the Town of Braintree Massachusetts
  News & Announcements
Back to Home Page




Announcing Recipients of the 2017 Braintree Community Inclusion Award!

Announcing Recipients of the

2017 Braintree Community Inclusion Award!


Mayor Joseph C. Sullivan will be hosting the 9th Annual Braintree Community Inclusion Awards on Thursday, May 25th to honor members of our community that have furthered the ideals of inclusion.  Inclusion means that ALL children and youth are given equal opportunity to participate in the community.  More specifically, children and youth with special needs are participating alongside their typical peers. 


We are honored to be dedicating this year’s Community Inclusion Awards event to Pam TenEyck, Braintree Public Schools Behavior Specialist and passionate supporter of ALL students and families in Braintree.  Pam will be leaving after 17 years with Braintree Public Schools however, her incredible commitment to inclusive program and student development here in this community will live on!


We are honored to be presenting this award to the following members of our community:


o   Braintree Community Youth Center Braintree Rotary Club founded the BCYC ten years ago with the intent of providing a safe, fun, and supervised environment for the youth of Braintree.  The BCYC is an outstanding example of “inclusion” in action!


o   Sue Frazier – Sue Frazier’s is one of the first faces everyone who enters Braintree High School sees.  She is an enthusiastic and natural “includer” of all young people she encounters in many ways in the Braintree Schools and the community!


o   Coach Adam Ringius and his assistant coaches Nick Faoro, David Ringius, Sr., Christos Papaioannou and their team, Chris Anderson, Evan Anderson, Chris Faoro, Ned Fitzgerald, Patrick Grehan, Michael Mackay, Brendan Mcgonigle, Sokrat Pango, Foti Papaioannou and Adam Ringius, Jr. (A.J.) – This 2nd grade boys soccer team and their coaches are a shining example of what it means to include everyone and enjoy the sport as a team!


o   Abigail “Abba” Yaney – Abba is an extraordinary senior at Braintree High School who has reinvented how the BHS yearbook is created to ensure all students are represented and is a wonderful student leader and role model for inclusion!


Each year, the committee receives so many wonderful nominations and although we are enlightened and moved by the many ways inclusion is working in our community, we sadly cannot recognize every single one.  The committee encourages those who have submitted nominations that may have not been chosen to consider nominating a deserving member of our community again next year. 


Please join us for this celebration at the Braintree Town Hall on Thursday, May 25th at 6:30 p.m. for light refreshments and the program of speakers will begin promptly at 7:00pm.  Each year, this event is inspiring and uplifting as we hear stories about the special members of the community that we honor.  It is a wonderful way to share the meaning of inclusion and how it’s done in Braintree!  We look forward to seeing you there!


The Community Inclusion Awards Committee


Stefanie Brown, Bethany Doherty, Eileen Donahue, Linda Doucette, Lyn McPhail and Kristen Zechello